Getting Back Into The Groove

My most successful years in sales were when I was running 2-3 times a week and practicing Ashtanga Yoga 2 times a week. I maintained that schedule for several years. And loved it.

But I totally abandoned both practices after accepting a super-high-stress, super-high-travel job. Don’t get me wrong, I was extremely successful in that job, too, if money is your only measure of success. Mentally and physically, I was a wreak. True story. Just ask my husband. And my family. And my friends.

I read somewhere that it should* take about three months to bounce back when you leave that kind of job. It’s taken me a year. So either, I’m an aberration or I suck at bouncing back. Either? Both?

Regardless, I’m joining a new company on Monday and could not be more excited. The job means I get to do what I love to do – which is help teachers and administrators make school better for a generation of kids who live and breathe technology. (We’ll talk about that more in the coming weeks.)

So, in a return to my foundational practices of success, which are really more about self-discipline and structure than anything else, I’ve resumed yoga.

And boy oh boy, has this week been a fun reminder of why I maintained a practice so consistently for so long. It’s also been a reminder that if you take a break from yoga, your muscles will forcibly remind you that you are Seriously. Out. Of. Practice.

My muscles are shaky. But I’m reminded of the central tenets of successful living – breathing, centering, connecting with your body, meditating. It’s the focus on wholeness that I really love about yoga. It’s not just about moving your body; it’s about being present and attentive. And whole.

P.S. My current favorite phrases are Uddiyana Bandha and Chaturanga Dandasana. Because they’re fun to say.

*I’ve said it before, and I’ll say it again. Should is a guilt word and when you find it, kill it.

Leave a Reply

